In Vogue 38&39.

I cannot believe that this semester is over.  I know that is such a cliche thing to say, but it is so true.  I also cannot believe the amount of work (that I am actually proud of) that I was able to produce this semester.  I am hoping this productivity stays with me over Christmas break.  I have big plans; I would like to continue collaging (maybe start a Teen Vogue series), continue adding to my “Little Women” series, begin work on a project with my roommate from last year (more details later) and figure out exactly what steps I need to take to make “I am beautiful because..” a reality.  I am telling all of you this so that you can help to keep me on track.

Today was wonderful, both of my crits went extremely well and I left feeling excited about what I had accomplished this semester.  I had some wonderful conversations with people I’ve meet and become close to recently, other artists who’s opinions I greatly value.  I love our intellectual talks and being able to figure out the meaning of why we make what we make, as well as having a support system of people who are genuinely excited about what you’re doing and honestly want to see you succeed.  I wasn’t sure if I’d find that again this semester (actually that was one of my biggest fears entering this school year) and I am so glad that I did.

On a separate note, feeling super productive and on top of the world, I came back from my final day of classes and made two more collages.  I was told I have an eye for collage this afternoon and that was one of the greatest compliments I could receive (at the best time).  Storyboarding had me down about my drawing skills so it was nice to be picked back up and reminded that there are so many other forms of art and I may just be naturally talented at some of them.  Someone else commended me today for making feminist work that didn’t hate on men (in regards to my “Little Women” books).  That was also nice to hear because I try really hard not to make super angry, anti-male art.  I like men (for the most part) and I like wearing ribbons in my hair; you should be able to do both of those things and still be a feminist.

Anyways, enough rambling, here are my collages.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. S. Parnes says:

    Great job this semester lady! Keep it up and keep in touch!

    1. Hey thank you so much! I look forward to seeing you continue to post and all the awesome work I know you’re going to do.

Leave a Reply

