Constructed Memories.

I had to make a piece for my Issues in Contemporary Photography class in response to the reading “Something for Nothing” by Charlotte Cotton; I made a series.  We also had to write a short artist statement for the work – here it is.

Constructed Memories (working title)
Kaitlyn Jo Smith

After reading “Something From Nothing” I immediately thought of the scanogram and its unique ability to elevate the ordinary to something more extraordinary by surrounding any given object in a somewhat magical pool of darkness.  I have always been fascinated by the idea of the “constructed memory”.  Basically the thought that we build our memories based more upon stories and photographs than we do upon actual events.  I thought that I could further explore this concept by using childhood photographs, a small circular mirror and the flatbed scanner.  I was hoping the mirror would reflect the scanners light and produce bright, distorted colors, but it instead mimicked the murkiness around each print.  I’ve yet to decide whether or not this is a good or a bad thing.

I am unsure of the order in which I’ll display these images so for now I’ll just give them to you at random.

Leave a Reply

