Salt.

I made my first ever salt print on Wednesday and am pretty pleased with the results.  Salt printing is one of the earliest forms of photography and is a type of contact print.  I absolutely feel in love with the process; the fact that it’s so physical and that it allows me to be outside in the sun.  There will always be something magical watching an image appear, as if magic, out of nothing right before your eyes.  The tonal quality of these types of prints is beautiful too.  They are murky and dark with a reddish-brown tint which I believe lends itself quite nicely to this particular image.  Although I am not pursuing this technique at the moment, I plan to work with salt printing for my final.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. jeffhaynes says:

    Yes, the tones do work very well with the composition.

    1. Thank you, hopefully I can push this further in the future.

Leave a Reply

