3D Collage.

As you all know by now, I’ve been spending this semester pushing myself to think past the 2D collage and explore other realms within this medium.  Today I was cutting up an old magazine when I looked over at my pile of discarded scraps (I am one of those artists who can’t throw anything away) and thought that there had to be something I could do with all of them.  My window sill has perfect lighting for relatively small still lives, so I began to experiment with creating a sort of 3D collage.  I hope to use this discovery in the near future to create more conceptual pieces, but for the time being, I am pretty satisfied with what I was able to turn my scraps into.

as Smart Object-1

Below are a few detail shots so that you can see the setup.

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Tamrin says:

    Love! As always.

  2. S. Parnes says:

    I really like the idea of these images coming off the glossy pages and infiltrating everyday spaces. Because that’s what they do psychologically. Keep exploring this!

    1. Me too, this was 100% experimental, but I defiantly think I may be on to something. All I need is a solid concept and I’m set!

Leave a Reply

