Final Tests.

Here are the finished products of my four 4×5 test prints.  In the end I let them soak a total of four days, until the sun evaporated all of the milk.  I am captivated by the variations of texture on each and am pleasantly surprised by the results.  They are cracked and eroded: the original image unrecognizable.  I love that they are tactile and impermanent.  They look like skin to some extent: boils, wrinkles, blemishes.  It may be a stretch but I think they can be related to the broken parts of being human: the imperfect, the fleeting.  I am drawn to the elements of chance involved in this process.  I have no idea what the final result of each image will be.  This is directly related to fertility.  I have no idea what the final result of my children will be: if I will even have any.  It’s imperfect, messy, broken and fragile; yet similarly, strikingly beautiful.

Here are the results of my tests:

And here are some detail shots:

Currently the full sized prints are in their milk bath.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Tamrin says:

    Ummm lets see, LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE.
    that is all.

    1. Thanks! I think they are going to have to stay this size though. The larger prints are way too fragile to handle.

Leave a Reply

