Nest IV, V.

Yesterday during my personal vision class I read my working artist statement to my professor and told him about my nests.  My statement briefly mentioned how my religious beliefs affect my work.  He asked me if I was more interested in the ritual aspect of religion or the spirituality.  I had never thought about this before but ended up telling him that personally I am interested in the spiritual, but I thought that my art reflected the ritualistic.  That’s when he changed my perspective on these nests.  He told me that I liked them because it was a ritualistic activity: essentially the same process each time, but I also liked them because of the “spiritual” experience I had while creating them.  The wandering and the spontaneity of each nest is spiritual, the actual practice of making them is ritual.  It never occurred to me that even though I wouldn’t consider this new creative habit to be centered around religion, the ideas are still evident in the work.  This was a huge eyeopener in terms of who I am as an artist and what it is that interests me.  I am now seeing that this spiritual vs. ritual nature plays out in most all of my art.

One Comment Add yours

  1. My nest is my man cave office! Filled with my toys. 🙂

Leave a Reply

