quietly taking shape.

The reception for quietly taking shape was so much more wonderful than I had anticipated.  The work was beautiful; everything was so carefully thought out and people noticed – they reacted.  I saw so many emotions as people interacted with the space and it was amazing to see others being touched by the pieces (heaven knows I was).  My face was literally sore from smiling so much as I was overjoyed to have the opportunity to talk art with everyone who walked into the space.  At one point somebody thanked me (me) for the work I was making and I nearly cried.  This has been such an incredible learning experience and I am so proud of us all for taking the initiative to make it happen.  It is such a good feeling to know that having a gallery show is something that I can do; I am capable of making work that people want to look at and hanging it up in a place for them to see.  I cannot stress enough how awesome it is to have a such a crazy big idea and see it through to completion.  We have been working on this show since May.  It seemed like a far off dream, but it happened and now (unbelievably) it’s over and we’re already talking about doing it again.  Next time it will be even better, a different show filled with different thoughts from the same three passionate young female artists.

To those of you who came, thank you deeply, it was such a joy to spend the evening with you.  For those of you who were not able to make it out I hope to see you the next time around.

Thank you all for you love, kind words and support,
Kaitlyn Jo Smith

Fall On Your Knees

It took me nine months to gather the strength to develop this roll of film, five minutes to burn it and mere seconds to throw it all away.

“A thrill of hope the weary world rejoices.
For yonder breaks a new and glorious morn!
Fall on your knees, oh hear the angel voices.”

Milk & Eggs

The egg is the life; the milk is the sustenance. We instinctively know how to drink milk; likewise, a pregnant woman’s body instinctively knows how to make it. Once the egg is fertilized, it sets off a series of events within the female body that we have absolutely no control over. It’s imperfect, messy, broken and fragile; yet similarly, strikingly beautiful.

Leave a Reply

