You Longed Greatly For Your Father’s House.

I made a pinhole camera in the shape of a very influential outbuilding from my childhood home.  I then took it back there, set it on a rickety old stool and shot the shed, creating kinetic images of my past.

The further I’m pulled away from home (childhood), the tighter I cling on to the little bit that’s left.  Yet I am finding, as time progresses, memories fade and stories change.  We are constantly trying to go back to a place that no longer exists.  Home has changed, we have changed and our relationship has become less personal and more nostalgic.

You Longed Greatly For Your Father’s House

And now you have gone away because you longed greatly for your father’s house, but why did you steal my gods?

– Gen 31:30 (ESV)

Individual photographs:

Leave a Reply

