I See Myself.

I have begun to realize that in this documentary I have become a collector of moments in time that remind me of memories from my past.  Even in the imagery I didn’t take myself, I see myself.  This confirms that there is, to some degree, a common experience we females share growing up as middle class white girls in America.  I am imprinting my own personal narrative on all of these photographs, they are all in someway mine as they are all in someway yours.  It is a collection of ideals, objects and stereotypes that we as a culture have accepted and continue to buy into.  All of that is what I am documenting, not the girls, but what they represent.

Here are images of my own childhood experience to be included in the final (in no particular order).

Leave a Reply

