Shoe-boxes.

I have always been afraid of forgetting and of being forgotten.  It’s why I love photography.  It’s why I love spending hours digging through shoe-boxes of old photos capturing lives I’ll never know.  One of my thesis professors recently told me that my work is sentimental and romantic.  This is the result of being in love with what I do.  I am so passionate about stealing moments from this world that it actually hurts my heart; not remembering is not an option.  I am too enthralled by this life to not document every second of it.  There is nothing that I want to forget.  When I am eighty and my memory fails, I want a record of every little moment that brought me joy.  I don’t want to leave behind a home full of material things, but a shoe-box full of, what will then be, old photographs for another sentimental heart to ponder.

Leave a Reply

