Royals.

Today I met with my independent study advisor to discuss my ideas for a cyanotype installation that will be on display this coming April. I sat down, looked at her and said “fair royalty”. She had no clue what I meant, which absolutely floored me. This whole time I had thought that I wanted to bring art to a rural setting, to show the people who were raised similarly to me that art can and does impact their lives, that it is as much about them as it is about urban spaces. What I realized today is that I’m actually doing the opposite, I’m bring the country to the city, showing a world to others who don’t know it exists. In a way I am marrying my two selves: country Katie Jo and city Kaitlyn Smith.

Last semester I was able to print one lone cyanotype on glass (pictured below); I instantly fell in love, running up to my professor and asking to spend spring semester making them with her. The challenge then became finding a subject matter worthy of such a precious medium. I couldn’t stop thinking of home, of the blue collared Americans I’ve spent my whole life around and how much they contribute to our society. I began to think about the people who do the most and are thanked the least: farmers. Eventually this train of thought lead me to fair royalty, an incredibly prestigious honor for those of us in rural communities. I decided to take portraits of “royals” lit regally in the style of Caravaggio that I will soon be printing on glass.

This is only the first batch; I’m hoping to have between twenty and thirty images when it’s all said and done. My goal is to have a variety of ages, not just young twenty-somethings. I would also love to see a good representation of different Ohio counties (even State Fair representatives). If you or somebody you know was junior fair royalty please contact me and I can give you more information for becoming apart of this project; I would love to work with you.

Pre-cyanotype portraits:

_MG_0046

Rachael
2011 Rabbit Queen
Wyandot County

_MG_0111

Adam
2011 Jr. Fair King
Wyandot County

_MG_0141

Libby
2010 Rabbit Queen
Madison County

_MG_0175

Donny
2004 Goat Prince
Seneca County

_MG_0202

Candace
2011 Dairy Princess
Seneca County

_MG_0192

Austin
2011 1st Runner Up Jr. Fair King
2012 Jr. Fair King
Wood County

—–

Cyanotype on glass (don’t mind my incredibly awkward hand):

20151021_143610

 

49 Comments Add yours

  1. Laura Schaller says:

    I would love to participate in this!
    2004 Wood County Junior Fair Queen
    2006 Ohio Fair’s Queen, 2nd Runner Up

    1. I would absolutely love for you to be apart of this. I am shooting this Sunday, February 7th at 7pm and March 6th also a Sunday at 7pm. Let me know if either of those work for you (if not we can set something else up). They will be done on CCADs campus and I can give you more information on that once you confirm.

      Thank you for your interest.
      Katie

  2. Christy Wickiser says:

    I would love to be apart of this!!
    2015 Wyandot County Fair Queen

    1. Love to see good old Wyandot County represented and I would absolutely love for you to be apart of this. I am shooting this Sunday, February 7th at 7pm and March 6th also a Sunday at 7pm. Let me know if either of those work for you (if not we can set something else up). They will be done on CCADs campus and I can give you more information on that once you confirm.

      Thank you for your interest.
      Katie

  3. Abby says:

    2003 2nd runner up fair queen
    2004 2nd runner up fair queen
    2004 beef queen
    wood county

    1. I would absolutely love for you to be apart of this. I am shooting this Sunday, February 7th at 7pm and March 6th also a Sunday at 7pm. Let me know if either of those work for you (if not we can set something else up). They will be done on CCADs campus and I can give you more information on that once you confirm.

      Thank you for your interest.
      Katie

  4. amydomer says:

    2005 Wood County Beef Queen
    2006 Wood County 2nd Runner Up Fair Queen

    1. I would absolutely love for you to be apart of this. I am shooting this Sunday, February 7th at 7pm and March 6th also a Sunday at 7pm. Let me know if either of those work for you (if not we can set something else up). They will be done on CCADs campus and I can give you more information on that once you confirm.

      Thank you for your interest.
      Katie

  5. Joelle says:

    Hi Kaitlyn!
    I love this idea and I would like to participate as well.
    2004 Jefferson Co. Fair Queen 😀

    1. I would absolutely love for you to be apart of this. I am shooting this Sunday, February 7th at 7pm and March 6th also a Sunday at 7pm. Let me know if either of those work for you (if not we can set something else up). They will be done on CCADs campus and I can give you more information on that once you confirm.

      Thank you for your interest.
      Katie

  6. Ashley says:

    Wish I could be there– living in NC now, but how fun!!

    1. Wish you could to but thank you for the support!

  7. Michala says:

    I am interested in participating in this! I was the 2012 Tuscarawas County Fair Queen.

    1. I would absolutely love for you to be apart of this. I am shooting this Sunday, February 7th at 7pm and March 6th also a Sunday at 7pm. Let me know if either of those work for you (if not we can set something else up). They will be done on CCADs campus and I can give you more information on that once you confirm.

      Thank you for your interest.
      Katie

      1. Michala says:

        I can on March 6th!

      2. Michala says:

        Nevermind on the 6th. Is there another day besides those two dates?

      3. Because of the unexpected amount of people interested in this project I have added two additional dates. February 21st and 28th both at 4pm.

      4. Michala says:

        I can on February 21st!

      5. Awesome send me an email at KSmith.6@go.ccad.edu so I can give you my number and some more info. So glad to have you on board!

  8. Kendra says:

    Hello Kaitlyn! I’d love to help you out!!!
    2004 Putnam County Jr Fair Queen
    2005 Putnam County Jr Fair Horse Queen

    What a neat idea!!!

    1. Awesome I would to work with you! I am shooting this Sunday, February 7th at 7pm and March 6th also a Sunday at 7pm. Let me know if either of those work for you (if not we can set something else up). They will be done on CCADs campus and I can give you more information on that once you confirm.

      Thank you for your interest.
      Katie

  9. Hi Kaitlyn, I was the 2010 Ohio Fairs’ Queen (previously this was called the State Fair Queen) and the 2009 Fairfield County Junior Fair Queen. I’d love to connect, as I am currently working on a database of past Ohio Fairs’ Queens. You can contact me through my website contact page: HeatherNWilson.com

  10. Meredith Mates says:

    2004 Wyandot County Fair Queen and 2006 Ohio Fairs’ Queen. I wish I could participate, but am in living in Indiana. Not able to make it to Columbus this weekend and probably not in March either, as I’m due with my 2nd baby in March. Best of luck to you!

    1. You actually came up several times when I began throwing around the idea of this project with some of my Wyandot County friends. I’m sorry you can’t be apart of it all but I do really appreciate the support. Thank you for that.

  11. Trinity Smith says:

    I would love to be apart of this!
    2015 Delaware County Junior Princess.

    1. I would absolutely love for you to be apart of this. I am shooting February 7th at 7pm, February 21st at 4pm, February 28th at 4pm and March 6th at 7pm (all Sundays). Let me know if either of those work for you (if not we can set something else up). They will be done on CCADs campus and I can give you more information on that once you confirm.

      Thank you for your interest.
      Katie

      1. Trinity Smith says:

        I can come to the one for tomorrow (Feb 2) at 7pm. If you could give me more information about what I need to bring as well as more on the location that would be great. Thanks!

      2. Wonderful! Can you send an email to KSmith.6@go.ccad.edu and I’ll give you the specifics?

      3. Trinity Smith says:

        I can come to the one for tomorrow (Feb 7) at 7pm. If you could give me more information about what I need to bring as well as more on the location that would be great. Thanks!

  12. Gerri Dunfee says:

    Hi my daughters Angela Dunfee Watts, 1992 Jr miss 1st runner up and 2001 Erie co fair queen and Laura Dunfee Kirchner, Jr miss photogenic , 1997 and the 1998 and 2006 Erie County Fair Queen would both like to participate.

    1. I would absolutely love for them to be apart of this. I am shooting February 7th at 7pm, February 21st at 4pm, February 28th at 4pm and March 6th at 7pm (all Sundays). Let me know if any of those work for you (if not we can set something else up). They will be done on CCADs campus and I can give you more information on that once you confirm.

      Thank you for your interest.
      Katie

  13. Megan Kuhl says:

    Hi Kaitlyn, I was 2012 Erie County Fair Queen and I would love to participate! I will also pass this along to other queens that I keep in contact with!

    1. I would absolutely love for you to be apart of this and appreciate you spreading the word. I am shooting February 7th at 7pm, February 21st at 4pm, February 28th at 4pm and March 6th at 7pm (all Sundays). Let me know if any of those work for you (if not we can set something else up). They will be done on CCADs campus and I can give you more information on that once you confirm.

      Thank you for your interest.
      Katie

      1. kuhl16 says:

        February 21st would work the best for me! What’s the best way to contact you?

      2. Please email me at KSmith.6@go.ccad.edu and I can give you more info.

  14. Erin Miller says:

    Hello I would be absolutely honored to partake in this. I was the 2014 Putnam County Fair Queen, and would love to help you out just let me know!

    1. I would absolutely love for you to be apart of this. I am shooting February 7th at 7pm, February 21st at 4pm, February 28th at 4pm and March 6th at 7pm (all Sundays). Let me know if either of those work for you (if not we can set something else up). They will be done on CCADs campus and I can give you more information on that once you confirm.

      Thank you for your interest.
      Katie

  15. Jade Poorman says:

    Hello, I think what your doing is absolutely beautiful and if your still looking for royalty I’m very interested!! I am the 2015/2016 Coshocton County Fair Queen! 🙂

    1. Thank you for your kind words, I would absolutely love for you to be apart of this. I am shooting February 7th at 7pm, February 21st at 4pm, February 28th at 4pm and March 6th at 7pm (all Sundays). Let me know if any of those work for you (if not we can set something else up). They will be done on CCADs campus and I can give you more information on that once you confirm.

      Thank you for your interest.
      Katie

      1. Jade Poorman says:

        I believe either the 21st or the 28th would work!

      2. Awesome, just let me know for sure which as soon as you can! Will you send an email to KSmith.6@go.ccad.edu so I can give you more specifics about what will happen?

  16. Brittany Cayton says:

    I would be happy to participate!
    2014 Licking County Pork Industry Queen
    2015-16 Hartford Independent Fair Queen
    I think an independent fair shows a lot of diversity and mix of different people from a few different counties much like what you are hoping to accomplish!

    1. I agree and would love to including both of your titles into this body of work. I am shooting February 7th at 7pm, February 21st at 4pm, February 28th at 4pm and March 6th at 7pm (all Sundays). Let me know if any of those work for you (if not we can set something else up). They will be done on CCADs campus and I can give you more information on that once you confirm.

      Thank you for your interest.
      Katie

  17. SQR says:

    I was hoping to see more responses from decades past fair royalty but I see only more recent ones. I was the 1974 Jackson County Fair Queen. If I were in the state, and you were interested in us “old folks,” I would be there! Good luck on your project, I think it’s a great one!

    1. I would love to see a bigger variety in age represented, right now I have a few queens from the eighties but I am defiantly looking for more. Thank you for your kind words, I hope you follow along with this project as it progresses, it has definitely grown into something larger than I had ever imagined!

  18. Connie Price says:

    Hey kaitlyn. I would love to be involved. I an the 2010 Franklin County Fair Queen. I think what you are doing is fantastic and this is a really great idea. I can understand wanting to bring the country to the city. As i live in franklin county we have columbus and most people dont understand or see how you can do 4-H, girl scouts, boy scouts, fccla, ffa in this big city. I would get that all the time about oh your the franklin county fair queen is that the same as the state fair or I did not know you had a fair. Lol. Please let me know what days and I will see you there.

    1. It would be great to meet/work with you as I am not super knowledgeable about the county fair’s role in Franklin County and would love to hear about it. I am shooting February 21st at 4pm, February 28th at 4pm and March 6th at 7pm (all Sundays). Let me know if any of those work for you (if not we can set something else up). They will be done on CCADs campus and I can give you more information on that once you confirm.

      Thank you for your interest.
      Katie

Leave a Reply

