This New Found Freedom.

Be sure to check out The Hive, the space that all of my travel musings now call home.

THE HIVE

On July 27th, 2010, I turned sixteen. Immediately I got my license. Initially this wasn’t something that I was super excited about. Generally speaking I fear that in which I am not yet well versed. I like to be in control of my life, my surroundings. Due to that fear’s crippling nature, it is something that I have desperately tried to overcome. Though I had no desire to drive, driving was a necessity. I grew up in the middle of nowhere Ohio, and so having a license was important, everything was at least twenty minutes away and my parents tired of driving me to ballet lessons. I turned fifteen and a half amidst a January flurry and got my permit, six months later, my license. It turned out that driving a ’99 Chevy Malibu wasn’t much different than a ’79 Cub Cadet, and soon I relished in this new found freedom.

This memory resurfaced as I was driving…

View original post 894 more words

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

